Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Monday, 16 December 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << December 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

PGMA declares special non-working days in five cities, one municipality

Manila (14 August) -- President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo has declared the following dates as special non-working days in five cities, one municipality and one province:

Aug. 15, Tuguegarao; Aug. 20, Lucena; Aug. 30, Mandaue; Aug. 22, Davao; Aug. 28, Cagayan de Oro; Aug. 19, municipality of Angono, Rizal, and Sept. 2 in Albay province.

Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita said that Proclamation No. 1574 was signed on Aug. 2, 2008 declaring Aug. 15 as special non-working day in the City of Tuguegarao to enable the people of this city celebrate their patronal feast dubbed as "Pavvurulun Festival 2008.

The other proclamations that declared special non-working day in other cities, municipality and province which was signed by Ermita under the authority of the President were Proclamation No. 1575 (signed on August 6) to mark the Charter Day anniversary of the Lucena City on Aug. 20.

Proclamation No. 1576 signed on Aug. 6 for special holiday in Mandaue City on the occasion of their Charter Day Anniversary on Aug. 30.

Proclamation No. 1579 signed on Aug. for 7 for Kadayawan Festival on Aug. 22 in Davao City. Kadayawan is a week-long festival from Aug. 18 to 24 as a week of thanksgiving for bountiful harvest.

It is also an occasion for the various indigenous communities to display their peculiar cultural sports and distinct tribal arts, crafts and their significant contributions to the Davao city's development and rich culture.

Proclamation No. 1581 signed on Aug. 7 has declared Aug. 28 a non-working day for the Cagayan de Oro City for the celebration of their annual fiesta dubbed as "Araw ng Cagayan de Oro".

Proclamation No. 1580 has declared Aug. 19 as a special non-working day for the municipality of Angono, Rizal in celebration of the signing of its independence as a municipality.

Proclamation No. 1584 signed on Aug. 11 will give the province of Albay on Sept. 2 marks their 143rd birth anniversary of the late General Simeon A.Ola as the last revolutionary general to surrender at the end of the Philippine-American War.

"It is but fitting and proper that the people be given the full opportunity to celebrate the occasion with appropriate ceremonies," Ermita said on the issuances. (PIA-MMIO) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Sarangani adopts social integration plan
»Region XI needs focus on manufacturing
»DOST JLSS scholarships application deadline set
»DOST offers engineering graduate scholarships
»Davao Oriental celebrates 1st Almasiga Festival and 60th founding anniversary
»Zambo Norte to host Mindanao Business Conference
»Increased bio-fuel production urged
»Power firm helps Davao construct 2 school buildings
»Commentary: PGMA's election automation gains headway with ARMM polls' success
»PGMA hails successful conduct of ARMM elections, poll automation
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines