Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Tuesday, 22 September 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << September 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Mahinog bags most outstanding legislative body award in Northern Mindanao

by Homer R. Jajalla

Cagayan de Oro City (23 February) -- The municipal council of Mahinog has recently bested other towns as it won the most outstanding Sangguniang Bayan (SB) for 4th-6th class municipalities all over the region.

The awarding was held recently during the Philippine Councilor's League (PCL) Regional General Assembly and Convention at Capitol Convention Center in Mambajao, Camiguin.

Mahinog will now represent the region in the same competition and category at the national level.

On the other hand, the city council of Iligan City also emerged as the most outstanding Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP) for urbanized cities, Valencia City as most outstanding SP for component city and Mambajao town as most outstanding SB for 1st-3rd class municipality.

The city and municipal councils were rated according to these criteria: effectiveness of the legislative agenda, effectiveness of the legislative tracking system, availability of legislative documents, efficiency of performance of the sanggunian, and the quality of office setup and staff complements.

The Local Legislative Award is a program of the PCL, in partnership with the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), in order to accord official recognition to the sanggunians that excel in legislative laws which ultimately contribute to the attainment of desirable socio-economic and environmental outcomes.

Mahinog municipal council is composed of vice mayor and presiding officer Rogerio C. Acle, councilors Rey Lawrence K. Tan, Valentin F. Babanto, Nerio Y. Galochino, Jonard B. Labadan, Kaiser A. Abao, Leoncio P. Somobay, Manolo V. Tabamo, and Liberato E. Babanto. E-officio members Epifanio V. Yamit representing the barangay captains and Jorene G. Salvaleon representing the sangguniang kabataan. (Mahinog Information Office) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»DA, Gawad Kalinga launch Mindanao 'Bayan-Anihan' project
»RPDEV pushes sustainable tourism development in RP
»9th Musikahan Festival: Rondal-Awit seizes 2nd day
»Davao del Norte eyes expansion of oil palm industry
»Davao Norte employees prepare for earthquakes
»Panabo City intensifies security measures
»P20-M local college building to rise in Kapalong
»Feature: Light and energy for Brgy Southern Davao, Brgy San Vicente
»Compostela Valley sets 4th Gawad Kalinga Bayani Challenge
»Gov't commended for stable peace in ComVal
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines