Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Tuesday, 29 September 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << September 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

PIA 6 cites devcom writers; NIPSC Iloilo tops awardees

Iloilo City (26 February) -- The Philippine Information Agency (PIA) 6 is giving the IWAG award for 2010 to 51 outstanding development communication student writers in the Region, 20 of whom come from Iloilo, 14 from Negros Occidental, nine from Capiz, five from Aklan, and three, Antique.

Ms. Queen Harley M. Artillano, of Ang Bituin publication of the Northern Iloilo Polytechnic State College in Estancia leads this year’s awardees, a unanimous choice of the judges.

The publication, under the direction of Dr. Cirilo Deocariza, was also cited for Best Filipino Page and awarded fourth in the Best Magazine category during the 2009 College Press Conference and Awards.

Coming close ranking second are Mark Christopher Duenas of The Lead, (a Gawad Graciano Hall of Fame awardee of three consecutive COPRE award years), under Prof. Allen del Carmen of the University of St. La Salle, Bacolod; Jerenney C. Real, Jr. Josephinian, Colegio de San Jose, under Ms. Marina Panes, and Pauline Rose L. Geroche, Central High echo, Central Philippine University, under Prof. Jessica M. Gargantiel.

The IWAG Award is an annual recognition given to graduating editors of student publications in the region, who passed the major award criteria, namely number and quality of devcom articles written and published, communication/journalism trainings attended including those of PIA 6, related community activities/outreach, and academic performance while serving as editor/student writer.

PIA 6 Director Janet Mesa said the focus of IWAG is to recognize the performance of student writers in the field of development communication which contributes to the thrusts of government, like mitigating measures on climate change, enhancement of livelihood, empowerment for the poor and community building initiatives.

The other IWAG awardees for Iloilo are Mark Wilfred Popioco, Mediator, WVSU-Mass Comm, Ethen D. Bermudez, NIPSC-Estancia, Ma. Rowena Alcido, WVSU-College of Education, Daryl Lasafin, WVSU-Main, Armando Araneta, JBLFMU-Arevalo, Tristan Val Leonida, CPU, Ericson Magsino, WVSU-Calinog, Honelyn May Casis, WVSU-College of Education, Jessie Rapista, WVCST, and Novabelle Belila, NIPSC.

Other awardees include Angelica Quitasol, Lcid Crescent Fernandez, Jyska therese Kuan Ken, Maryan Lea V. Moquite, Bert Lorens Divinagracia, all from Ateneo-Iloilo, which has several publications, hence, several awardees were cited.

The award was open for publications not by schools so a school that has several publications can nominate as to the number of publications they have. (PIA6/ESS) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»DOST XI employees train on poll automation
»Feature: Health worker takes proactive approach
»Real estate, retailing top investments in Davao, says SEC
»Air transport registers increase in 2009
»Davao Port X-ray machine is safe, assures DOH
»Pilar CeC gears up to become island ICT hub
»Feature: Montinola info center turns 1
»Algeria CeC: Taking the first steps towards excellence
»BIR Caraga implements 10 strategies to increase revenue in 2010
»Governors, mayors vow to support new KALAHI-CIDSS areas in Caraga Region
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines