Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Sunday, 23 February 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << February 2020 >> 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Team Naga sweeps city council posts anew

by LS Macatangay

Naga City (13 May) -- Still working wonders, the "Ubos kung Ubos, Gabos kung Gabos" election battlecry of Naga City pertaining to a landslide win of the administration's candidates, now dubbed as "Team Naga" made waves again and is now a phenomenal part of this city's political history.

This after the entire Team Naga, headed by its winning tandem, Naga's mayoralty bet Atty. John Bongat and Vice Mayor Gabriel Hidalgo Bordado, along with the full line up of their city councilors were officially declared as winners by Atty. Cinderella Lozano, Naga City Comelec Supervisor in a simple proclamation rite at City Hall yesterday (May 11).

Bongat, Mayor Jesse Robredo's anointed successor and protégée garnered a total vote of 32, 231 representing 78 per cent of the city's total votes. Bongat's closest opponent, Atty. Adan Botor, collected a total of 13, 370 votes. Former Congressman and Naga City Mayor Cho Roco, also not successful in his comeback bid, placed third in the mayoralty polls.

The wide disparity between Nagueños' choice was also reflected in the scores garnered by the vice mayoral candidates. Incumbent city vice mayor Bordado carted a total of 37, 238 votes, catapulting him back to his old post as vice mayor of the city for the next three years. His closest rival, Benjie Lucena only managed to hurdle with a total of 14, 261 votes.

Naga City has a total registered voters of 78, 500, with 101 clustered precincts.

All 10 aspiring councillors under the Team Naga ticket were able to make it. Topping the list is Nene De Asis garnering a total vote of 34,000, followed by Atty. Nelson Legacion with 32, 670 votes and Atty. Esteban Abonal who raked in a total of 31,021 votes. Other councillors who will be serving the city council for the next three years were: Nathan Sergio, Babeth Lavadia, Ryan Rentoy, Jose Tuazon, Salvador Del Castillo, Joaquin Perez Jr and Raul Rosales. (PIA CamSur) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Sara Duterte bares plans for Davao City as new mayor
»DA turns over P10-M veggie products to Sorsogon diocese
»Training for Bicol seed growers conducted
»Southern Leyte Comelec bares location of 18 defective compact flash cards in 9 municipalities, one city
»Cagayan de Oro unveils historical markers for central school
»Comelec proclaims winners with incumbent re-electionists
»DENR develops new assessment tool for pasture leases
»SOCOTECO II resumes rotational brownouts after elections
»Dipolog LP bets win by landslide
»CCL glitch stops provincial canvassing in Nueva Vizcaya
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines