Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 20 February 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << February 2020 >> 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Comelec proclaims Aklan election winners

by Venus G. Villanueva

Kalibo, Aklan (13 May) -- Aklan's election winners for various provincial positions were proclaimed here May 13 at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) Session Hall, Provincial Capitol grounds.

The winners, led by incumbents Rep. for the Lone District of Aklan Florencio T. Miraflores, Governor Carlito Marquez and Vice Governor Gabrielle V. Calizo were proclaimed by the Provincial Board of Canvassers composed of COMELEC Provincial Election Supervisor Atty. Ian Lee Ananoria as Chairman, Rizalde P. Dizon, State Auditor V Supervising Auditor, Vice Chairman, and Dr. Victorina Laroza, Schools Division Superintendent, DepEd-Aklan, as Member.

Ten Sangguniang Panlalawigan members from the eastern and western part of Aklan were also proclaimed.

Rep. Miraflores, now on his third term, ran unopposed and garnered a total of 178,190 votes. On the other hand, Marquez, also on his term, got a total of 166,099 votes against opponents Leovigildo T. Mationg, who got 40,895 and Anthony Acevedo, who got 5,140.

Re-elected Vice Governor Gabrielle V. Calizo-Quimpo got a total of 126,981 votes while her opponent, former Ibajay mayor Roberto Q. Garcia, Jr. got 66,776.

Elected Sangguniang Panlalawigan members in the western side of Aklan include Jose Enrique Miraflores who garnered 58,355 votes; Selwyn Ibarreta, 55,781; Phoebe Clarice L. Cabagnot, 48,136; Gerick M. Templonuevo, 46,029 and Victor Manuel M. Garcia, 37,897.

Jose Enrique is the son of Rep. Florencio Miraflores while Phoebe Clarice is the daughter of former Aklan governor Corazon Legaspi Cabagnot. Victor Manuel is also the son of another former Aklan governor, Roberto Q. Garcia.

Ibarreta and Templonuevo are relectionists.

For the eastern part, SP winners include Nemesio Neron, who garnered 57,411 votes; Daisy S. Briones, 54,425; Raymar Rebaldo, 52,795; Jean Rodriguez, 49,092 and Rodson Mayor, 47,659.

Neron, Briones, Rodriguez and Mayor are reelectionists while Rebaldo is the only new member for the eastern group.

Rebaldo is a three-termer mayor of Kalibo, whose mayoral stint ends June 30 of this year, and then will sit at noontime of the same day as SP member.

For the May 10, 2010 elections, 246,002 Aklanons became part of history by casting their votes in the first-ever automated elections held in the country.

Aklan has a total of 316,040 registered voters. (PIA) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Sara Duterte bares plans for Davao City as new mayor
»DA turns over P10-M veggie products to Sorsogon diocese
»Training for Bicol seed growers conducted
»Southern Leyte Comelec bares location of 18 defective compact flash cards in 9 municipalities, one city
»Cagayan de Oro unveils historical markers for central school
»Comelec proclaims winners with incumbent re-electionists
»DENR develops new assessment tool for pasture leases
»SOCOTECO II resumes rotational brownouts after elections
»Dipolog LP bets win by landslide
»CCL glitch stops provincial canvassing in Nueva Vizcaya
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines