Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 12 December 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << December 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Mt Province PBOC awaiting results from 2 towns; municipal winners proclaimed

by Juliet B. Saley

Bontoc, Mt. Province (15 May) -- While many of the provinces have already proclaimed winners in the just concluded first automated elections, the Provincial Board of Canvassers are still to canvass results from two municipalities four days after the May 10 elections.

Barlig is beset with transmission problem the Municipal Board of Canvassers(MBOC) had to bring the Precinct Count Optical Scan(PCOS) machine and compact flash to Bontoc but the laptop which was designated to transmit to the Provincial Board of Canvassers also bogged down and has to be brought to Manila. They are still awaiting for it.

In Paracelis, the Municipal Board of Canvassers can not transmit the election results because of the problem in barangay Bonot where one PCOS machine was burned allegedly by supporters of a local candidate last May 11. The precinct has 147 registered voters.

Based on Comelec rules, the MBOC can only transmit municipal consolidated election results to the PBOC after all the clustered precincts have transmitted 100 percent.

Provincial Election Supervisor Ricardo Lampac went to Paracelis Thursday to settle the problem.

As of 10AM of May 14, partial official results from eight of the ten towns of the province show comebacking Atty. Leonard Mayaen ahead of the gubernatorial race with 19,571 votes. In second place is Marcial Lawilao Jr. with 13,435 votes closely trailed by Ezra Samson Gomez with 13,321 votes.

In the vice gubernatorial race, Bonifacio Lacwasan Jr is leading by a wide margin with 34,533 votes. Glen Manao has 10,512votes and Arbee Talastas with 9,136 votes.

The lone congressional seat is a very close contest. With results from Barlig and Paracelis still being awaited, canvassed votes from the towns of Bauko, Bontoc, Besao, Natonin, Sagada, Sabangan, Sadanga and Tadian, show incumbent Governor Maximo Dalog Sr is slightly ahead of Jupiter Dominguez. Dalog has 20,340 votes while Dominguez garnered 19,929.

Meanwhile, the MPOC of the eight towns have already proclaimed their newly elected local officials. For Bontoc, retired teacher Pascual Sacgaca is the new mayor with retired police general William Aspilan as vice mayor.

Councilors are Eusebio Kabluyen, Benjamin Ngeteg, Jerome Tudlong, Jr., Ignacio Afidchao, Constancio Miranda, Herman Farnican, Wilbert Padngaran and Anthony Sumcad. Simon Lacwasan is reelected mayor of Bauko with Rodolfo Patnaan as vice mayor.

Councilors are Bartolome Badecao, Mario Gaoken, Romeo Pagedped, Arcadio Taganas, Willy Pasngadan, Andres Bantasan, Juan Malinias and Ricky Samidan

In Besao, incumbent mayor Wellington Pooten retained his post. Harry Baliago is the elected vice mayor.

Councilors- Jun Lopsoten, Marcos Mangallay, Joel Lacsigen, Sylvia Yongaan, Policarpio Pekas, Orville Estangki, Alfredo Beyden and William Beswilan.

In Natonin, Mateo Chiyawan and Rodolfo Liwanen are the new mayor and vice mayor respectively.

Councilors are Abel Bagsao, Christopher Bayowan, Claro Basilan, Rey Salwagan, Marcos Chaclag, Leonel Dulay, Froilan Tarnate and Ronald Oyang-o. Yongaan is the only female councilor -elect of the eight municipalities.

In Sabangan, mayor Donato Danglose ran unopposed. Vice mayor is Joseph Bernardez.

Councilors - Luis Bosoen, Venancio Lipawen, Roman Bacog, Dario Esden, Enrique Litilit, George Sapdoy, Ernesto Bondad, and Florencio Sudicalan.

Mayor Edward Latawan of Sagada is into his second term. Vice mayor is Richard Yodong.

Councilors- Francis Balisong, Venancio Baybay, Valentine Lam-osen, Dennis Lopez, Moses Padayao, Edwardo Guitelen, Kapon Gomgom-o and Francis Kilongan. All elected officials are new except for mayor re-elect Latawan.

In Sadanga, mayor is Gabino Ganggangan while vice mayor is Joseph Apopot. Councilors are Moises Agmeyeng, Albert Ayao-ao, Eusebio Magannon, Joseph Daguio, Basilio Falisong, George Kadatar, Juanito Forafor and Vicente Ticag. All are new except for Apopot who is an incumbent councilor.

In Tadian, it is a new tandem of Atty. Anthony Wooden as mayor and Laurence Atipen as vice mayor.

Councilors- James Abadod, Oscar Dulaycan, Jun Laminta, Gilbert Lao-ay, John Ngade, Jose Pasan, Sr., Alfonso Polan and Uliver Turtem.

Of the newly elected councilors in the eight towns, there are 22 who are re-electionists. (PIA) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Military takes part in cleaning up election mess
»Feature: Free education for visually-impaired children
»PBA Fiesta Conference 2010 showdown set in Panabo City
»Comval provincial winners proclaimed
»Comval election successful amidst rain, slow voting process and technical glitches
»US Embassy announces new green, user-friendly visa application process
»Fall 2010 Jefferson Fellowships for Journalists opened
»AFP will not negotiate for release of abducted soldiers
»First automated election in Ifugao a success - Comelec
»3 killed, 2 wounded in Mayoyao hacking incident
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines