Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Saturday, 25 January 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << January 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Comelec proclaims poll winners in Southern Leyte

By RG Cadavos

Maasin City, Southern Leyte (15 May) -- With a landslide victory in the province of Southern Leyte, the Lakas-Kampi-CMD party candidates in the May 2010 polls at the provincial level were officially proclaimed by the Provincial Board of Canvassers, yesterday, May 14 at exactly 4:30 in the afternoon.

After the remaining official ballots from the municipalities were finally fed into the Precinct Count Optical San (PCOS) at the New Legislative Building, Provincial Capitol, the winning candidates, all from the administration ticket were declared. It was led by the Board of Canvassers Chairman Provincial Comelec Election Officer Antonio Gulay Jr., Department of Education Division Superintendent Violeta Alocilja, and Provincial Fiscal Antonino Ruiz.

Re-electionist Congressman Roger G. Mercado led in the congressional slate with 125, 912 votes against former Congressman Aniceto Saludo Jr. who garnered 61,595 votes provincewide. While, younger brother Damian G. Mercado, incumbent governor got 132,696 votes over Marissa Y. Lerias with 47,430 votes.

Other candidates proclaimed were re-electionist Vice Governor Miguel Maamo II, and the Sangguniang Panlalawigan members from the two districts of the province.

The 1st District SP members who won the poll were: re-electionists Alberto Esclamado,Cesar Rey, Teopisto Rojas, Jr., and Felicula Escano, the former mayor of Tomas Oppus replacing Agustin Escano who ran as mayor of same town. While the 2nd District Sangguniang Panlalawigan members who were declared as winners were as follows: incumbent Daisy Gamale, Roberto Lagumbay, Junbee Fernandez and newcomer Abelardo Almario.

The Board of Canvassers alternately raised the hands of the poll winners as indication that the elections in the province was finally done four days after the May 10. 2010 elections. Family, friends and supporters of each candidate were present during the proclamation. (PIA-soleyte) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Military takes part in cleaning up election mess
»Feature: Free education for visually-impaired children
»PBA Fiesta Conference 2010 showdown set in Panabo City
»Comval provincial winners proclaimed
»Comval election successful amidst rain, slow voting process and technical glitches
»US Embassy announces new green, user-friendly visa application process
»Fall 2010 Jefferson Fellowships for Journalists opened
»AFP will not negotiate for release of abducted soldiers
»First automated election in Ifugao a success - Comelec
»3 killed, 2 wounded in Mayoyao hacking incident
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines