Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 20 February 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << February 2020 >> 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Comelec proclaims poll winners in Lanao del Sur

Islamic City of Marawi (17 May) -- The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) here proclaimed more winners in Lanao del Sur amid slow canvassing in the province.

Re-electionists Marawi City Mayor Fahad U. Salic and Vice-Mayor Noryasmin A. Calandada dominated the elections in the city level.

Salic won with 34,234 votes or 66.65% of the total votes compared with his major rival Abbas Basman with 16,918 votes or 32.94%. Calandada, on the other hand, beat four vice-mayoralty candidates with 55.55% of the total votes or 27,186 votes.

Both winners were from the Nacionalista Party.

Moreover, the Provincial Board of Canvassers chaired by Atty. Josllyn Demesa also revealed that they have proclaimed winners in 26 municipalities of Lanao del Sur.

These towns are Poona-Bayabao, Madalum, Madamba, Ganassi, Pualas, Lumbatan, Lumabayanague, Balabagan, Tamparan, Taraka, Marantao, Mulondo, Wao, Bumbaran, Bacolod-Kalawi, Butig, Malabang, Ditsaan-Ramain, Piagapo, Kapatagan, Bubong and Pagayawan. (Apipa P. Bagumbaran / PIA-Marawi)

No schedule yet for special elections in Lanao Sur - Comelec

by Apipa P. Bagumbaran

Islamic City of Marawi (17 May) -- The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) here in Lanao del Sur disclosed that no final date was set for the conduct of special elections in some part of the province.

Acting Provincial Election Supervisor Atty Josllyn Demesa said that they are waiting for the instructions from their head office on the date of special elections in the province.

As of yesterday, we have canvassed 70% and hopefully we will be done canvassing today the returns from the municipalities which functioned, Demesa said.

After this, we will probably suspend and wait until there will be elections in the municipalities where there was failure of elections, she added.

Earlier, the Provincial COMELEC reported that there was failure of elections in seven (7) towns and twenty three (23) barangays in Lanao del Sur.

These towns are Lumba-Bayabao and Masiu in the first district as well as Tubaran, Bayang, Sultan Dumalondong, Marogong, and Lumbaca-Unayan in the second district.

On the other hand, 10 barangays in Kapai, five (5) in Calanogas, two (2) in Tugaya, four (4) in Ganassi, and two (2) in Marantao did not functioned.

The acting PES said that failure in one (1) town was due to malfunction of the precinct count optical scan (PCOS) machine and compact flash cards (CFCs) while the other six (6) towns have no election officers (EOs) and board of election inspectors (BEIs).

Demesa further revealed that the total registered voters for the seven towns is 68,687 while the 23 barangays has 9,303 registered voters. (PIA-Marawi) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»PGMA attends June 6-7 World Economic Forum in Vietnam
»Eastern Samar's Evardone, Nicart, Gonzales proclaimed next provincial leaders
»Waray-Waray News: Tagan prayoridad han mga elehido an ensurhensiya
»Waray-Waray News: 5 barangay ha Samar magbubuhat hin espesyal nga eleksyon
»Waray-Waray News: Arroyo napili otro nga chairman han Lakas
»Waray-Waray News: China gin-aghat nga ig-undang an pantimos hin nukleyar
»Waray-Waray News: Teacher-BEIs angay dugngan an suhol - DepEd
»Waray-Waray News: Singbahan ha mga daogan: Tumana an iyo mga saad
»Cebuano News: Walay special elections alang sa paghulip sa puwesto ni Aquino
»Cebuano News: Palasyo nag-awhag sa sunod nga Presidente pagdawat kang Corona isip Chief Justice
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines