Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 20 June 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << June 2019 >> 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

18 Lakas/Kampi/CMD mayoralty candidates win in Samar

by Ninfa B Quirante

Borongan City (19 May) -- Some 19 mayors belonging to the Lakas-Kampi-CMD swept victory in Samar province during the recently concluded local and national elections.

The data was tken from the official Comelec website, duly confirmed by Nicholas Mendova, Assistant Provincial Election Officer.

They are: the mayor of Almagro Kathleen Prudenciado, a neophyte ; Calbayog City Mayor Reynaldo Uy who used to represent Samar's First Congressional District; Calbiga Mayor Melchor Nacario a re-electionist, Daram Dr Lucia Astorga another re-electionist, Hinabangan Alejandro Abarratigue, still another re-electionist; Jiabong, Jocelyn de Jesus is reportedly the daughter of former Mayor Chanita Gabieta.

Other mayors who are members of Lakas-Kampi-CMD who won are Marabut Mayor Atty Percival Ortillo, another re-electionist; Matuginao Mayor Melissa dela Cruz, daughter of murdered mayor then Carlos de la Cruz; and Motiong Mayor Francisco M Langi, another re-electionist.

Others are Pinabacdao Mayor Mario Quijano, another re-electionist ; San Sebastian Mayor Arnold Abalos also a re-electionist; Sta Margarita Mayor Alfredo Serrano, a re-electionist on his second term; Sta Rita Lisandro Kim Adolfo a second termer; Sto Nino Lilia A Coņejos, a new mayor ; Villareal Mayor Reynato La Torre, another re-electionist; and Zumarraga Mayor Myrna Tan, a newly elected mayor of the island town.

Meanwhile, two mayors were so fortunate to have no opponents and were proclaimed like Mayor Antonieto Cabueņos still from Lakas-KAMPI-CMD and San Jose de Buan Mayor Ananias Rebato another Lakas-Kampi-CMD partymate.

Winners in other municipalities belonging to other parties include: Basey Mayor Junjie Igmedio Ponferrada of Liberal Party who is newly elected, Paranas folks re-elected Mayor Felix Babalcon who also belongs to the Liberal Party along with Talalora newly-elected Mayor Leonilo Costelo also from LP.

Catbalogan City Mayor Coefredo Tekwa Uy is alone as a mayoralty winner from the Partido Demokratiko Sosyalista ng Pilipinas (PDSP) also a re-electionist.

Some lady mayors elected belong to the Nacionalista Party are Tarangnan Mayor Emmelly Olaje and, San Jorge Mayor Nancy Grey both are re-electionists.

The third Nacionalista Party member is re-elected Mayor Vicente Limpiado of Tagapul-an, another island town.

Pagsanghan mayor, added Mendova can not yet be proclaimed as a special election has been set next week. The allotted ballots were inadvertently delivered to Guimbal, Iloilo.

If the results from this special election will side with leading candidate Ruben Palma, the number of Lakas-KAMPI-CMD winners will total to 19. (PIA-Samar) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Search is on for 2010 most outstanding volunteers
»Top councilor elect wants unified Davao legislative-executive agenda
»PRC issues new regulations for broadcasting stations
»DSWD, Red Cross release rice aid to El Nino victims
»4Ps opens jingle-making contest
»Veggie council reaches out to provincial members
»Davao Norte MSMEs vie for presidential awards
»Healthy lifestyle prevents, controls hypertension
»STI Calbayog jobs fair brings sure jobs to 185 graduates
»Leyte gov bats for more birthing centers to ensure safe motherhood
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines