Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Saturday, 25 January 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << January 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Mt Province provincial officials proclaimed

by Andrew Doga-ong

Bontoc, Mt. Province (21 May) -- The Provincial Board of Canvassers finally proclaimed the duly elected provincial officials here noon of Monday, seven days after the May 10 first automated elections.

Proclaimed winner for the lone Congressional District of Mountain Province is incumbent Governor Maximo Dalog, Sr. who garnered 24,724 votes as against the 23,973 votes of his closest rival, former Sabangan mayor Jupiter Dominguez.

Other Congressional candidates are Bontoc Mayor Franklin Odsey and former Presidential Assistant for the Cordilleras Thomas Killip, who got 18,792 and 5,865 and votes respectively.

Declared winner in the guberrnatorial race is "comebacking" Lawyer Leonard Mayaen who earned 21,415 votes or 3,927 votes lead against his closest opponent, Board Member Marcial Lawilao, Jr.

Other gubernatorial candidates with their corresponding total votes are : Board Member Ezra Gomez - 16,860, Harry Dominguez ? 7,745 vice governor Louis Claver, Jr. ? 6,000,and Albert Padayos ? 135.

Former Association of Barangay Captains President, Bonifacio Lacwasan, Jr. was proclaimed vice-governor elect as he received overwhelming votes of 38,450. Glenn Manao and former Board Member Arbee Talastas garnered votes of 15,309 and 12,243 respectively.

Declared winners for Board Members for District 1 covering the towns of Bontoc, Sadanga, Barlig, Natonin and Paracelis are Raul Lapon, Alfonso Kiat-ong, re-electionist Carino Tamang and Johnny Lausan.

Elected Board Members for District II covering the municipalities of Bauko, Besao, Sabangan, Sagada and Tadian are Tadian incumbent mayor Constito Masweng, Randolp Awisan, re-electionist Salvador Dalang and Carmelita Masidong.

Provincial Election Supervisor and PBC chair, Atty. Ricardo Lampac, said the delayed proclamation of provincial winners was due to the technical glitches in transmitting election results in the municipality of Barlig starting from the precinct level to the Municipal Board of Canvassers and then to the PBC and the burning of a Precinct Count Optical Machine in sitio Apalis, Bonut in Paracelis.

Lampac, who rushed to Paracelis to personally assess the burning incident and to facilitate the transmittal of election results in the municipality to the PBC, said election results in the burned PCOS will not affect the standing of both winner and losing provincial candidates. (PIA-MP) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»SSS acquires 9.68% stake in Phoenix Petroleum
»Mindanao biz sector awaits Aquino's energy plan
»DSWD XI gets serious on wellness
»Finance group issues advisory to help public protect their investments
»NGCP says Leyeco II 1-hour power outages caused by load shedding by energy supplier
»4 PSHS East Visayas students win in world science tilt
»Waray-Waray News: PGMA ha nasunod nga administrasyon: Igpasigi an JPEPA
»Waray-Waray News: PPCRV: Igpresentar an ebedensya hin panlimbong
»Waray-Waray News: Natikahataas an rekisitos han promosyon han kapulisan
»Waray-Waray News: AFP ginsidngan hi Noynoy: Wara magkukudeta
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines