Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Tuesday, 25 February 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << February 2020 >> 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

An Waray partylist qualifies for 2 seats in Congress

Tacloban City (May 31) -- The An Waray Party-List is among the 28 winning party-list organization which have been proclaimed by the Comelec on May 31.

This means that An Waray Representatives Bembem Noel and Neil Montejo will have another three-year stint in Congress.

Both Representatives Noel and Montejo are from Eastern Visayas. An Waray is the winning party-list group in Eastern Visayas.

The An Waray party-list garnered 711,631 votes, getting the 7th highest party-list votes during the May 10 automated elections. This qualified the An Waray to claim two seats in the House of Representatives.

The Party-list System Act (Republic Act 7941) provides that those who received at least two percent of the total votes cast for the party-list system shall be entitled to one congressional seat each while those who received more than two percent of the votes shall be entitled to additional seats in proportion to their total number of votes.

However, each party-list organization shall not be awarded more than three seats in Congress.

The Comelec has yet to receive all the votes cast for the party-list system, specifically from areas where there were failure of elections.

Included in these areas are seven municipalities of Lanao del Sur, two municipalities of Basilan, and one municipality of Sarangani - where special polls have been scheduled on June 3.

The 1987 Philippine Constitution provides that 20 percent of the seats in Congress be allotted for the sectoral representatives.

Included among the 28 proclaimed party-list organizations were Coalition of Association of Senior Citizens in the Philippines - 1,292,182 votes (2 seats); Akbayan Citizen's Action Party - 1,058,691 votes (2 seats); Gabriela Women's Party - 1,001,421 votes (2 seats); Cooperative Natcco Network Party - 943,529 votes (2 seats); ABONO - 766,615 votes (2 seats); Bayan Muna - 746,019 votes (2 seats); An Waray - 711,631 votes (2 seats); Agricultural Sector Alliance of the Philippines, Inc. (AGAP) - 515,501 votes (1 seat); Alliance for Barangay Concerns Party (ABC) - 469,093 votes (1 seat); Anakpawis - 445,628 votes (1 seat); Kabataan Party-list - 417,923 votes (1 seat); Abante Mindanao, Inc. (ABANAMIN) - 376,011 votes (1 seat); Act Teachers - 369,564 votes (1 seat); You Against Corruption and Poverty (YACAP) - 335,635 votes (1 seat); Ang Kasangga sa Kaunlaran, Inc. (Ang Kasangga) - 296,368 votes (1 seat); Bagong Henerasyon (BH) - 292,875 votes (1 seat); Ang Galing Pinoy (AGP) - 269,009 votes (1 seat); Agbiag! Timpuyog Ilocano, Inc. (AGBIAG) - 262,298 votes (1 seat); Puwersa ng Bayaning Atleta (PBA) - 238,675 votes (1 seat); Arts Business and Science Professionals - 257,301 votes (1 seat); Trade Union Congress of the Philippines (TUCP) - 244,623 votes (1 seat); Alyansa ng mga Grupong Haligi ng Agham at Teknolohiya Para sa Mamayan, Inc. (AGHAM) - 241,898 votes (1 seat); Democratic Independent Workers Association (DIWA) Kapatiran ng mga Nakulong na Walang Sala - 234,717 votes (1 seat); Kalinga Advocacy for Social Empowermennt and Nation Building Through Easing Poverty, Inc. (Kalinga) - 229,198 votes (1 seat); Alagad Party-list - 227,116 votes (1 seat); 1 Ang Pamilya - 217,032 votes (1 seat); Alliance of Volunteer Educators - 214,760 (1 seat).

The proclamation of 11 party-list groups which have pending disqualification cases filed against them or their nominees. (PIA 8) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Cebuano News: 23 milyones nga tinun-an sa elementarya ug sekondarya motungha na sa Hunyo 15
»Cebuano News: Hepe ng OPS-MARO namatay sa heart attack sa World Expo site sa Shanghai
»DENR Cagayan Valley adopts measures to address climate change
»DENR mulls review of forest co-management projects
»Waray-Waray News: RP gintagusya han UN
»Waray-Waray News: Malacanang media officer namatay ha China
»Waray-Waray News: Seguis denepensahan an desisyon ni PGMA ha Mindanao
»Waray-Waray News: 23-M nga estudyante masulod yana nga Hunyo 15 - Valisno
»Waray-Waray News: P600-M iginbukalas para pangupay tikang han "Frank"
»Waray-Waray News: Espesyal nga eleksyon ha Samar ikinadto ha Hunyo-3
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines