Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Monday, 21 October 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << October 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Aquino swears in members of Truth Commission, other officials

Manila (14 September) -- President Benigno Aquino III formally inducted into office the five members of the Truth Commission, nine undersecretaries, three assistant secretaries and four other government officials in simple ceremonies Monday at the Presidential Guesthouse.

The members of the Truth Commission who took their oath before the President were former Supreme Court Chief Justice Hilario Davide Jr. as head, retired Supreme Court Associate Justice Romeo Callejo Sr., former executive director of the Ateneo Human Rights Center Atty. Carlos Medina Jr., former Ateneo de Manila faculty member Atty. Menardo Guevarra, and former Supreme Court Justice Flerida Ruth Romero as members.

The President created the Truth Commission by virtue of Executive Order No. 1 to investigate alleged graft and corruption cases against officials of the past administration.

The President also swore in the new undersecretaries of various departments as follows:

George T. Syliangco and Christopher Rey Tio both from the Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO); Sigfredo R. Serrano of the Department of Agriculture; Jeremias L. Dolino of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources; Ambassador Antonio V. Rodriguez of the Department of Foreign Affairs for International Economic Relations; Danilo P. Cruz and Hans Leo J. Cacdac of the Department of Labor and Employment; Jose Fabia as acting Undersecretary of the Philippine Information Agency (PIA) and Emmanuel C. Andaya as acting Undersecretary of the National Printing Office (NPO).

The new Assistant Secretaries who also took their of office were Guillermo E. Flores of the Presidential Management Staff (PMS), Ruby Alvarez of the Department of Budget and Management (DBM), and Sim Caronero of the Department of National Defense (DND).

Other officials who were inducted include: Dante V. Sy, executive director of the National Tax Research Center; Atty. Nelson P. Laluces as acting Chairman of the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB); Cesar Buenaventura, member of the Board of Directors of the Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA); and Luwalhati R. Antonino as chairperson of the Mindanao Development Authority (MINDA). (cdls/3:30 p.m) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Tagalog News: DSWD 3 inanunsyo na ang regional finalists sa 4Ps jingle making contest
»Tagalog News: Mga natatanging Bulakenyo kikilalanin ng pamahalaang panlalawigan ngayon
»Dureza calls support for new MinDA head
»Davao City eyes malarial area for agri-development
»R-XI nominees cop major prizes in literacy awards
»NEDA seeks long-term Mindanao development plan adoption
»Davao Norte to fund beautification of barangay sites
»Gov brings light to Napunggas
»September 26 is World Heart Day
»R1 gov't agencies join RACE mall tour
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines