Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Wednesday, 16 October 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << October 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

'Pasidungog Eduardo A. Makabenta Sr. para han Siday' contest winners bared

By Neil D. Lopido

Tacloban City (September 14) -- The Sinirangan Culture and Arts Development Center, Office of the Cultural Affairs and Special Projects of the Leyte Normal University headed by Director Jose N. Lianza announces the winners of the first-ever poetry contest in Waray dubbed as "Pasidungog Eduardo A. Makabenta Para han Siday."

Poems of Imelda Agustin Ruiz of Punta Princesa, Cebu City got the first prize of P8,000 while Jhonil C. Bajado of Maydolong, Eastern Samar and Leonilo D. Lopido of Villahermosa, Dolores, Eastern Samar landed second and third place with a prize of P5,000 and P3,000, respectively. Each of these winners will also receive a Makabenta Diploma and trophies.

The awarding ceremony will be held at the HRDC, Alba Hall, Leyte Normal University on October 13, 2010, the 125th birthday of then Eduardo A. Makabenta, Sr. Expected guests who will attend said event are the municipal mayors of Carigara, Barugo, and San Miguel, the towns of Makabentas, together with officials of the province of Leyte.

The contest aimed to encourage the youth to write on our own language; give honor to the Waray culture and language; and honor one of the writers who saved our language, Eduardo A. Makabenta, Sr.

The Leyte Normal University through its President Dr. Evelyn C. Crizada would like to thank all those who helped for the success of the activity: Art PAcho, Alfredo and Gregoria Pacho, Dr. Evangeline Makabenta Garcia, Bebs Custodio, DYVL Aksyon Radyo, Phil Harold L. Mercurio, Oscar Penaranda, merlie M. Launan, Darryl Jane S. Delgado, and Antonio S. De Veyra. (PIA-8 with reports from Voltaire Oyzon) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Tagalog News: DSWD 3 inanunsyo na ang regional finalists sa 4Ps jingle making contest
»Tagalog News: Mga natatanging Bulakenyo kikilalanin ng pamahalaang panlalawigan ngayon
»Dureza calls support for new MinDA head
»Davao City eyes malarial area for agri-development
»R-XI nominees cop major prizes in literacy awards
»NEDA seeks long-term Mindanao development plan adoption
»Davao Norte to fund beautification of barangay sites
»Gov brings light to Napunggas
»September 26 is World Heart Day
»R1 gov't agencies join RACE mall tour
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines