Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Wednesday, 23 October 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << October 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Ilocos policeman wins 2010 COPS award

By Freddie G. Lazaro

Camp President Quirino, Ilocos Sur (September 14) -- A non-commissioned police officer from Ilocos region was adjudged as one of the Country's Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS) for 2010.

Ilocos region police director Chief Superintendent Orlando M. Mabutas proudly congratulated last Monday Senior Police Officer 2 (SPO2) Hermie Soriano Raymundo for bringing honor and distinction not only for himself but for the whole Region 1 police.

SPO2 Raymundo, assigned at the Provincial Investigation and Detective Management Division of the Pangasinan Police Provincial Office, joined nine other winners of this year's COPS award after a nationwide search undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Rotary Club of New Manila East and PS Bank in partnership with the Philippine National Police.

"Isang malaking karangalan ang pagkapanalo ni SPO2 Raymundo. His outstanding feat is really worthy of emulation," Mabutas said.

Meanwhile, report from the Metrobank Foundation showed that a total of 91 nominations were received for this year's search. The number was trimmed down to the ten winners through a rigorous screening process, document review and deliberation conducted by the selection committee composed of representatives from the PNP, government sector, non-government organizations and the Rotary Club.

The winners in the Police Commissioned Officer Category are Police Superintendents Leo M. Francisco, Florencio T. Ortilla, Noel R. Ponsaran Sidney N. Villaflor. Joining Raymundo as winners in the Police Non-Commissioned Officer Category are Police Officer 3's Edilberto B. Euraoba III, Shella Mae A. Sangrines, Zoraida M. Aripin, Joey V. Castillon and Roel P. Paclibar.

Each winner received a trophy and cash price of P250,000.

The search for COPS, now on its eighth year, is an annual project with the aim to recognize the shared responsibility between the police and the community. The award is given to gallant men and women of the police force who have demonstrated exemplary work with the community in preventing and solving crimes. (PIA Ilocos Sur) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Tagalog News: DSWD 3 inanunsyo na ang regional finalists sa 4Ps jingle making contest
»Tagalog News: Mga natatanging Bulakenyo kikilalanin ng pamahalaang panlalawigan ngayon
»Dureza calls support for new MinDA head
»Davao City eyes malarial area for agri-development
»R-XI nominees cop major prizes in literacy awards
»NEDA seeks long-term Mindanao development plan adoption
»Davao Norte to fund beautification of barangay sites
»Gov brings light to Napunggas
»September 26 is World Heart Day
»R1 gov't agencies join RACE mall tour
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines