Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Sunday, 20 October 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << October 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

DOT 8 celebrates Tourism Week by reactivating tourism councils in Eastern Visayas

Tacloban City (September 23) -- The Department of Tourism in Eastern Visayas is currently fast tracking the reactivation of the various Tourism Councils in the Region, Director Karina Rosa Tiopes informed.

Director Tiopes disclosed that this is the DOT Region's meaningful way of celebrating the National Tourism Week on September 21 ? 27, 2010 and the World Tourism Day on September 27 with the theme, "Tourism and Biodiversity."

The Tourism Director said that the theme is in line with the International year of Biodiversity as announced by the United Nations World Tourism Organization.

She added that the theme provides a unique opportunity to raise public awareness of the importance of biodiversity to tourism and the role of sustainable tourism in the conservation of life on Earth.

Director Tiopes explained that as a leading economic activity, sustainable tourism has an important role and responsibility in managing and conserving biological natural resources and at the same time, generate significant revenues for conservation and community development.

In Region 8, the Leyte Tourism Council and the Tacloban City Tourism Council used to be the only councils that were organized and functioning actively, Director Tiopes said.

Just recently, the Tourism Councils of the province of Biliran and the City of Ormoc were reorganized, Director Tiopes said.

Newly reorganized were the Tourism Councils of Maasin, Northern Samar, Eastern Samar and Baybay in Leyte.

Director Tiopes added that soon to be reorganized are the tourism councils of Southern Leyte, Borongan, Samar and Catbalogan, Director Tiopes informed.

After the reorganization of the tourism councils in all the six provinces of the Region, DOT will then reorganize the Eastern Visayas Regional Tourism Council, Director Tiopes said.

Chapter 1, Section 3 tab (j) of the Republic Act 9593 otherwise known as The Tourism Act of 2009, provides that one of the objectives of the State is to "strengthen the role of tourism councils and encourage the participation of non-government organizations (NGOs), people's organizations (POs) and the private sector in initiating programs for tourism development and environmental protection." (PIA 8) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Tagalog News: PNoy nakipagpulong sa Pangulo ng Vietnam
»Tagalog News: UST patuloy na iniimbitahan ang publiko sa kanilang Lumina Pandit exhibit
»4Ps: An answered prayer
»Davao Norte guv ready for PNoy's marching orders
»Aquino's visit reunites Davao Norte leaders
»Mati domestic airport to re-operate soon
»Davao Oriental farmers receive production enhancement assistance in organic farming
»Davao to establish food exchange complex in 3 years
»Davao military official suggests livelihood, education for IPs
»Tagalog News: POEA gagamitin mga LGU vs illegal recruitment
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines