Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Wednesday, 23 October 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << October 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

8th National Youth Parliament successfully conducted

Butuan City (9 November) -- 128 youth leaders nationwide representing the in-school youth, out-of school-youth, working youth, youth with special needs, and Sanguniang Kabataan (SK) attended the 8th National Youth Parliament (NYP) with the theme: "Kabataang Pinoy: Ako ang Pagbabago," held on November 5-8, 2010 at the Almont Hotel's Inland Resort, Butuan City.

"I hope that through the NYP Program, the delegates were able to share their experiences in their respective fields of expertise. From there, they can identify unique ideas and deeper awareness on certain pressing issues," Commisioner Steve Laurence M. Arquiza, 5th NYP President and the National Organizing Committee Chairman of 8th NYP, said.

Arquiza also stated that the NYC hopes that through the NYP, delegates can discuss issues and concerns in local level as well as the national. NYP has a rich tradition of discussing emerging issues such as juvenile justice law, clean-air act, and prohibiting underage smoking.

Aside from the parliamentary sessions, Usec. Christopher Lawrence S. Arnuco, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the National Youth Commission, delivered his State of the Youth Address (SOYA) about the current situation and issues of the youth as well as his aspirations for the youth sector.

Other spekers were Undersecretary Alicia Bala from DSWD, Congressman Jose Aquino II, and DBM Assistant Director Rolando Toledo.

The NYP delegates elected officials through electronic voting. Jericho Jan Bustamante from Zamboanga del Sur won the Presidential seat while Renelyn Tan from the NCR edged out her rivals for the Vice-Presidential race. Other elected officials were: Rachelle Anne Miranda as Secretary General; Daryll Edisonn Saclag as Deputy Secretary General; Romuel Imperial and Francis Lynn Malalis as Sergeants-At Arms.

The program is spearheaded by the National Youth Commission in partnership with the local government of Butuan City headed by Mayor Ferdinand M. Amante Jr. and the regional line agencies of CARAGA including DepEd, DOST, DSWD, DOH, PNP, DILG, DPWH, DENR, PIA, NEDA, DTI, CHR, NCMF, DOJ, POPCOM, CHED and DOT. (NYC/PIA-Caraga) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Tagalog News: BFAR pansamantalang pinagbabawal ang pagbebenta ng shellfish na nagmula sa coastal waters ng Bataan
»Tagalog News: DOLE Secretary Baldoz pinapayuhan ang mga kabataan na bisitahin ang career guide section ng BLE website
»IGACOS aims to be rabies-free island
»Rabies-free island good for tourism
»CDA sees bright future for coops under new code
»Talaingod mayor exhorts fellow IPs on ancestral pride
»October food prices remain stable despite typhoon
»2010 Gawad Saka 2010 Search for Outstanding Agri Achievers nominates Rodham Cacho
»Cebuano News: Pagsaulog sa kalag-kalag sa Panabo malinawon - Panabo PNP
»Cebuano News: Lima ka tonilada nga basura nahipus sa pampublikong sementeryo sa Panabo
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines