Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Wednesday, 23 October 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << October 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

OCD head sits as RDRRMC-10 chair

Cagayan de Oro City (27 November) -- Director Carmelito A. Lupo of the Office of Civil Defense (OCD)-10 officially assumed his designation as Chairman of RDRRMC-10 on November 25.

Pursuant to NDRRMC-Memorandum #22 series, 2010 dated Nov. 5, 2010, Director Lupo immediately presided over the 1st RDRRMC-TMG and MDRRMC Medina Joint meeting held at the Municipal Hall of Medina in Misamis Oriental.

The revision of the RDRRMC Organization Structure and the realignment of its member-agencies based on the mandate of the new law were among the salient features presented and discussed.

Republic Act 10121, "An Act strengthening the Philippine Disaster Risk Reduction and Management System, Providing for the Philippine Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Framework, and Institutionalizing the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Plan, appropriating funds therefore and for other purposes," or otherwise known as the Philippine Risk Reduction and Management Act of 2010 was signed by former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on May 27, 2010.

Its Implementing Rules and Regulations was approved and signed by Secretary Voltaire T. Gazmin of DND and current Chairman of NDRRMC on September 27, 2010.

Consistent with Section 1, Rule 4 of RA 10121, the current Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (RDRRMC), while Section 2, Rule 4 provides that the Regional Director of the Office of Civil Defense shall serve as the Chairperson of the RDRRMC.

Its Vice Chairpersons shall be the Regional Directors of DSWD for Disaster Response, the DILG for Disaster Preparedness, the DOST for Disaster Prevention and Mitigation, and the NEDA for Disaster Rehabilitation and Recovery.

The council shall be composed of the executives of regional offices and field stations (at the regional level) of the government agencies that are members of the National Council, four (4) representatives from the Civil Society Organization (CSO) and one (1) from the private sector.

Likewise, at the local government unit level, the Provincial/City/Municipal Disaster Coordinating Councils shall henceforth be known as the Provincial/City/Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Councils, while at the barangay level, it will be known as Barangay Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Committee under the Barangay Development Council. (OCD-10) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»DENR exec urges line agencies to coordinate with LGUs
»BIR eyes one-stop shop in Davao City
»QC's La Mesa Park can be replicated
»Panabo museum agri-industrial, cultural halls ready
»Uy respects consumer's preference
»DA-RFU-XI turns over new tractor for Davao Norte's corn program
»Feature: Biodiversity our Life support system
»La Mesa Watershed experience cited in biodiversity summit
»Cebuano News: 7 ka SK Chairperson sa Pantukan nagpakitabang kang Gov. Uy
»Philippine CeC Roadmap for 2011-2016 turns CeC wheel to rural barangays
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines