Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Sunday, 23 February 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << February 2020 >> 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

ASEAN nations to sign MOU on Cooperation to Aircraft Accident and Incident Investigation

Cebu City (27 May) -- The 10-member nations of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is expected to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on Cooperation to Aircraft Accident and Incident Investigation on Thursday, the last day of the three-day 25th ASEAN Senior Transport Officials Meeting (STOM) that kicks off today at the Shangri-la Mactan Resort and Spa in Lapulapu City, Cebu.

Under the MOU, the participating ASEAN member countries will cooperate in aircraft accident and incident investigation, investigation training and sharing of information and expertise, consistent with the standards and recommended practices, aircraft accident and incident investigation, contained in the Chicago Convention.

The MOU will be signed by authorities responsible for the investigation of aircraft accident and incident investigations of each of the ASEAN member nations which, aims to enhance the capabilities and professionalism of their respective aircraft investigators, and strengthen, promote and develop cooperation to enhance aviation safety.

Member states of ASEAN are Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Brunei Darussalam, Singapore, Thailand, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Vietnam and Cambodia.

ASEAN was first established in Bangkok, Thailand on August 8, 1967 by the five original member-countries namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on January 8, 1984, Vietnam on July 28 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on July 23, 1997 and Cambodia on April 30, 1999.

The objectives of the ASEAN are embodied in the ASEAN Declaration which states that the aims and purposes of the Association are to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries in the region and adherence to the principles of the Unites Nations Charter. (PIA-Cebu/FCR) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Davao, DOH monitor food fortification enforcement
»PPS, DOH warn public vs diseases
»PCA launches food safety campaign in Davao Region
»Filinvest pours P15-B investments for Mindanao
»Football parents call on DFA officials to resign en masse
»DepEd installs City of Mati Schools Division Office
»PGMA sends off medical contingent to cyclone-devastated Myanmar
»PGMA's Remarks during the Send-Off Ceremony of the Philippine Humanitarian Mission and Aid for Myanmar
»PGMA and Swazi king ink trade and cultural MOA
»PGMA calls Cabinet to a meeting in La Union
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines