Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Monday, 25 January 2021 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << January 2021 >> 
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Tourism Secretary inducts ATOP’s new set of elected officers

Koronadal, South Cotabato (16 October) -- Department of Tourism (DOT) Secretary Joseph Felix H. Durano inducted the new set of officers of the Association of Tourism Officers of the Philippines, Inc. (ATOP) during the closing program of its 3-day national convention last October 6, 2006 held at the South Cotabato Gymnasium and Cultural Center.

Secretary Durano inducted 10 executive officers and 16 regional representatives of ATOP who will serve for 2 years starting next year. Kinatawan Jose Falcon, who is the Sangguniang Panlalawigan Committee Chair on Tourism & Trade and Industry, formally introduced Durano.

In his short message, Durano bannered the tourism department’s accomplishment especially the 21 percent increase of tourist arrivals in the country. He also broke the good news that effective November 1 this year, there will be 2 direct international flights from Macau and Inchun, South Korea to Davao City that will bring at least 4,000 foreign tourists in Mindanao.

Durano likewise congratulated both the outgoing and incoming Presidents of the association.

Dea I. Que, outgoing National President delivered her valedictory address before the formal turn-over of the association’s gavel to Jennylind Cordero, the incoming President.

Cordero likewise delivered her inaugural speech.

Presidential awards were received by ATOP’s Outstanding Tourism Officers namely; Edna Amat, Josephine Orosca, Cesar Sulit Jr., Jennylind Cordero and Norberto Archangel.

The outgoing national president also awarded Malabon City for being the “Early Bird” among the delegates, Aurora province as the “Farthest Delegate” Tanauan City as the “Biggest Delegation” (46 delegates) and Hall of Fame for Benguet for arriving with a big number of delegates for three (3) consecutive years.

For the Best Tourism Practices Awards which is the highlight of the convention, the following were the awardees: Nature & Sports Tourism –Mt. Ubo Climb, Benguet; Heritage Tourism – San Fernando City, Pampanga; Tourism Week celebration-Escalante City, Negros Occidental, Compostela Valley, Nueva Ecija and Negros Occidental; Tourism Officers Club-League of Tourism. (FCS/PIA 12) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»NVizcaya revives 4 o’clock habit to fight dengue
»NVizcaya observes civil service month with gift-giving for the poor
»NVizcaya gives P10 million for sports complex rehab
»NVizcaya farmers receive P2.5 million for irrigation projects
»OWWA to establish migrants’ desk in Nueva Vizcaya
»Church officials seek NCCA help for lost icons
»PGMA unveils billion pesos worth of projects in Calbayog today
»Early okay of 2007 budget to sustain government's pro-poor agenda
»PRC expects flood of oath takers
»Exports up 21.3% in August; copper cathodes surge
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines