Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 2 April 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << April 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Leyte gears up for 63rd Leyte Gulf landings anniversary

Tacloban City (October 2) -- The Province of Leyte is now in the middle of preparations for the commemoration of the 63rd Anniversary of the Leyte Gulf Landings on October 20, 2007.

By virtue of Presidential Proclamation No. 653, the Provincial Government of Leyte is directed to commemorate annually this significant event that led to the liberation of the Philippines during World War II.

During the September 25 meting at the Executive Room of the Leyte SMED Center at the Capitol Grounds, the provincial executive committee organized the working committees that will help in the implementation of the various activities identified.

Leyte Governor Carlos Jericho Petilla who is the chairperson of the executive committee appointed Vice Mayor Mimyet Bagulaya, Administrator Vincent Emnas, Major General Armando Cunanan, Hon. Alfred Romualdez, Mayor Teodoro Sevilla of Palo, Mayor Hilario Caadan of Tolosa, Mayor Manuel Sia Que of Dulag and Mr. Antonio Cinco Jr. as members.

For the Commemorative Program and the Honors and Parade, Mr. Antonio Cinco Jr., will serve as chairperson.

The Special Events will be chaired by DOT Director Karina Rosa Tiopes while the Tourism and Investments committee is led by DTI Director Cynthia Nierras.

PIA Director Olive Tiu is the chairperson of the Public Information and Documentation Committee; PS/Supt Doroteo Palconit is the chairman of the Security Committee and LCCI President Orlando Uy is the Transportation Committee Chair.

The physical arrangement is chaired by Mr. Antonio Chan; the food committee is chaired by Ms. Melchora Cawile while the Commemorative Luncheon is chaired by Vice Governor MImyet Bagulaya.

The Veterans Affairs Committee is chaired by PSWDO Clotilde Malatbalat; the Protocol Committee by DFA Director Edmundo Venturanza and the reception committee is chaired by Ms. Evelia Martin.

In order to ensure that the health of the veterans is taken cared of, the medical services committee is chaired by Dr. Linda Teresa Astorga. The secretariat will be headed by Ms. Nelita Baguna of the Leyte Tou rism and Investment Promotion Center. (PIA 8) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Tax seminar for bookkeepers slated
»DepEd issues guidelines on schools' operation
»Elderly Filipino week starts
»DAR clarifies news reportage on Mati picket rally
»Sarangani employs anti-poverty tool
»RDR revives provincial sports complex improvement plan
»Pag-Ibig XI wins Civil Service distinction
»Confiscated substandard products from China to be destroyed
»Odyssey Waves awaits 4th Eastern Samar surfing competitors
»DepEd joins Nat'l Children's Month celebration in October
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines