Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 24 September 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << September 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Oro mayor vows support to 48-man CdeO delegation to nat'l campus press forum

Cagayan de Oro City (11 February) -- City Mayor Constantino G. Jaraula threw his all-out support to the participation of the 48-man Cagayan de Oro City official delegation in the forthcoming National Schools Press Conference to be held on February 15-21, 2009 at Naga City.

This developed after Mayor Jaraula assured funding support from the city government's Local School Board (LSB) even as he committed to shoulder the P3,000 registration fee of each participants, including a discounted round trip airfare and bus fare to and from Manila to Naga City.

The 48-man official Cagayan de Oro City delegation, led by division supervisors Liceria Pasilan and Pepa Pontillas, recently paid a courtesy call to Mayor Jaraula to seek the latter's support for their trip.

The participants are composed of the 'cream of the crop' elementary and secondary students from both public and private schools in Cagayan de Oro City, along with their school paper advisers, who emerged as top three winners in the regional competition on radio broadcasting and script writing contests.

Mayor Jaraula hopes that the exposure of the young students to the national conference will broaden their insights and horizons by gaining actual experience in the competition, which centers on the theme: "Climate Change- A Call for Responsible Campus Journalism".

The delegates in the elementary division are Charisse Kim Lamberte, Yvette Moyor Domo, Faith Love Cainday, Genzel Hanz Bacsal, Richard Oliveros Alicia Marie Galito, Reymark Baguhin, Dave Robinson Mugot, Cinderella Faye Obeņito, Starra Jane Furton, Renzo Miguel Akiat, Cris Mullence Bazar, Devijane Jandayan and Shaira Pimentel.

While the competing high school students are: Rica Angela Aquino, Catherine Maestrado, Ariana June Abarquez, Prince Jamie Omagap, Eliza Mae Quijada, Clinton Masayon, Josephine Kaye Daydora, Jocell Sedigo, Jan Joseph Rivera, Shelley Manapil, Dennis Paul Comandante, Mariel Apple Maandig, Tria Sizane Sabio, Ashian Marie Jalnaiz, Dawn Angelie Guiņares and Xenia Claire Valencia.

The school paper advisers are: Lovella Cabanday, Erlinda Escabusa, Melba Abrio, Charlotte Maestrado, Mary Junneth Lesis, Ma. Dulce Cuerquis, Cristita Sander, Anili Butcon, Malou Cagalitan, Chenito Illana, Ruby Obsioma, Salome Violeta, Nonette Limbaco, Michael Villamor and Veronica Mutia.

The delegation is scheduled to leave bound for Naga City on February 14, 2009. (Cagayan de Oro City Information Office) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»DOT 8 facilitates production of Eastern Visayas brochure maps
»T'bolis welcome NCIP delineation of ancestral domain
»Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Week set February 8-14
»Canada, UPMin to bring McLuhan Forum to Davao City
»AGR Charity Run on Feb. 14
»DTI cedes greater portion of Gredu property to occupants
»Feature: Celebrate love month with art
»30% of Region XI barangays landslide prone - MGB
»DOLE XI facilitates employment for retrenched workers
»Companies must adopt "flexible work" rather than total closure
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines