Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Friday, 5 June 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << June 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

2 Mindanao mayors shine in LGLA search for outstanding local executives

Davao City (6 December) -- Two mayors from Mindanao were honored during the "Excellence in Leadership: 2006 Local Government Leadership Award (LGLA)" ceremonies last November 29, at the Senate of the Philippines Building.

Mayor Alfonso Casurra of Surigao City was cited among the 10 Most Outstanding City Mayors, while Mayor Maximo M. Estela, MD of Sto. Tomas. was among the 10 Most Outstanding Municipal Mayors.

Mayor Maximo M.Estela, MD was jubilant as he was named as one of the Ten Outstanding Mayor in this year's search, 2 were city mayors while 8 were municipal mayors from all over the country. It should be noted that in the 1,502 municipalities, Sto. Tomas has made its marked in the Philippine map due to this prestigious award garnered by Mayor Estela. Mayor Alfonso S. Casurra garnered the Most Outstanding City Mayor award.

As Senator Aquilino Q. Pimentel said in his message "the true essence of leadership lies in the ability to deliver results and to make a difference…the political will to serve is derived from the strong determination to survive trials, along the journey to excellence" Mayor Estela's famous POLITICAL WILL to fully implement the RA 9003- Ecological Solid Waste Management Program simultaneously in the 19 barangays has propelled him in reaping this award.

The LGLA was the brainchild of Senator Aquilino Q. Pimente, Jr., the father of Philippine Local Autonomy, when in 2002, he saw the need to recognized the individuals â€" the local leaders who in the face of scarcity has found a way to make developments possible in their different municipalities just to serve the people they vowed to give service to.

To attest to the integrity of these award giving body, the national selection committee is compose of esteemed personalities from the University of the Philippines, Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, De la Salle University, Development Academy of the Philippines, Kapisanan ng mga Brodcaster sa Pilipinas (KBP), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) and is chaired by Senator Aquilino Q. Pimentel, Jr..

This is an annual event with three categories: Most Outstanding Governor, Most Outstanding City Mayor and Most Outstanding Municipal Mayor. The awardees will each received a cash grant, a medallion, a plaque of recognition and infrastructure projects from the Senate of the Philippines. (MIO-Sto. Tomas, DDN/PIA) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Davao YMCA sets induction
»Davao's Duterte limits operation of video-karaoke bars
»Sto. Tomas barangay officials receive financial aid
»Feature: Rising through hope and collective action
»2 Mindanao mayors shine in LGLA search for outstanding local executives
»1001st IB commanding general meets Muslim leaders
»Davao RDC endorses child-friendly policies
»Business sees bright prospects for 2007
»Commentary: The luster of Filipino unity behind Pacquiao's victory
»US "Books for the Barrios" program reaches Leyte
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines