Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 30 June 2022 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << June 2022 >> 
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Gawad Kalasag Awards rites for regional winners highlight disaster consciousness month

Tacloban City (August 1) -- To focus the National Government's continuous efforts to heighten the people's preparedness to and to mitigate the effects of disasters, the awarding of the Kalasag Awards to the Regional winners highlighted the closing ceremonies for the National Disaster Consciousness Month Celebration in Eastern Visayas.

Police Regional Office 8 Director Abner Cabalquinto who is the chairman of the Regional Disaster Coordinating Council 8, Assistant Division Commander of the 8th Infantry Division of the Philippine Army, Brigadier General Allan Ragpala, DILG Director William Paler, OCD Director Salvador Estudillo presented the awards in recognition of the honorees' excellence in disaster management and humanitarian assistance in times of disaster.

The provinces of Southern Leyte and Northern Samar were adjudged as the Best Provincial Disaster Coordinating Councils.

The Best in Humanitarian Assistance Award was presented to the Leyte Center for Development, Inc., while the Best in Government Emergency Responders, Individual Award was given to FO1 O'Brian Pranza.

The young Mr. Guerleo Gucela was presented the Best in Heroic Deed Award for his bravery in saving a nursing student who was trapped during the December 25 fire in Ormoc City.

For the Government Support Award (Individual), the awardees were Director Jaime Pacanan of the Department of Public Works and Highways, Director Leticia Corillo of the Department of Social Welfare and Development, Retired Dir. Benita Pastor of the Department of Health, Dir. Erlinda Olivia P. Tiu of the Philippine Information Agency, for their selfless dedication in responding to the call for help during the Guinsaugon tragedy, and Dir. Samuel A. Young of the National Telecommunications Commission for his efforts in improving the communications system of RDCC 8.

Awards were also presented to the deputized coordinators: Ms. Teofila Brosas of Tacloban City, Hon. Jose Alfaro Jr. of Ormoc City, Atty. Ralph Iriarte of the province of Leyte, Ms. Flordeliza Trani of the Province of Biliran, Mr. Rey Dorado of the Province of Eastern Samar and Engr. Amancio P. Unay Jr. of the province of Northern Samar.

For media support, ABSCBN, ABC5, DYVL and DYDW were given awards, too.

The Awarding Ceremony which hosted by the Philippine National Police Regional Office 8, was conducted on July 31 at the Quadrangle of the Police Regional Office 8 at Camp Ruperto Kangleon, Palo, Leyte,

The awarding ceremony commenced with the entrance of troops by the Police Regional Office 8 organic personnel and ended with a Pass-In-Review with the Awardees as Reviewing Officers. (PIA 8) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»CFO holds awareness campaign on international migration and inter-marriages
»NPA atrocity leads to execution
»BIR launches Revenue Watch Dashboard
»Census on Population starts; be counted, says NSO
»ARMM needs Halal feedmill investors
»SK registration still on
»Home for the Aged marks 30th year
»Red Cross, SM to launch "Gamot Para Sa Kapwa" project
»Gawad Kalasag Awards rites for regional winners highlight disaster consciousness month
»White Cane Safety Day celebrated today
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines