Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Monday, 16 May 2022 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << December 2007 >> 
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Feature: Who will be the next Datu Bago awardees?

Davao City (8 December) -- The Datu Bago Foundation, Inc. is now accepting nominations for the Datu Bago Awards for 2008.

Since its institution in 1969 during the mayorship of Elias B. Lopez, a total of 143 individuals have already been given the city's most prestigious award.

A quick look at the past winners shows a constellation of individuals who have made their marks in their fields of endeavor.

Some of them made substantial contributions to the growth and development of the city, some rendered exemplary service to the community, while others won national and/or international recognition, thus placing the City of Davao in the map.

Some of the more prominent awardees include: Soledad "Nanay Soling" R. Duterte, Antonio O. Floirendo, Tomas Monteverde, Jesus V. Ayala, Emilio Palma Gil, Patria G. Montemayor, Aida Rivera Ford, and Msgr. Clovis Thibault, PME.

Qualified to be given the Datu Bago Award are residents of Davao City of any nationality who have stayed in Davao City for at least ten years. This explains why foreigners have also received the award.

Dead persons may also be given the award. In fact, in the first batch of awardees in 1969, pioneer settler Francisco Villa Abrille was given posthumous award.

Elias B. Lopez, who created the Datu Bago Award in 1969, was himself given the award in 1998. Another indigenous person who received the award was Datu Tumalac Liag Salumay of Marilog District.

Educators like Pilar Braga and Luz Ilagan, and artists like Joey Ayala and Agnes Locsin have also been past Datu Bago Awardees.

Who will be the Datu Bago Awardees of 2008?

Individuals, organizations, and communities are encouraged to nominate a person whom they think deserves to receive this important award. Nomination forms are available from: Dr. Iris Melliza, Chair, Search Committee, Datu Bago Award Foundation, c/o Office of the President, Holy Cross of Davao College, Sta. Ana Avenue, 8000 Davao City. Tel. No. (082) 221-3008. Deadline of submission of nominations is at 5pm, January 31, 2008.

The awardees will be honored on March 14, 2008 as part of the week-long celebration of the Araw ng Dabaw. (PR-PIA XI) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»Road rehab program in Diwalwal ongoing
»Gov't to state workers: make honest and loyal service a habit
»Construction of farm-to-market roads serves farmers in depressed barangays
»Davao Oriental site of biggest biofuel investment
»Livestock producers turn green
»Barangay chief pleased with gov't programs in Diwalwal
»DAR chief assures quick resolution of Sumilao case
»60 Pinoy students leave on December 8 for 2-week Japan-ASEAN exchange program
»Feature: Who will be the next Datu Bago awardees?
»Tampakan expanded education program enters third year
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines