Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Friday, 13 December 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << December 2019 >> 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

NSCB bares top ten municipalities with highest IRA per capita in Region 8

Tacloban City (January 6) -- Catbalogan, the second biggest municipality in Eastern Visayas in terms of population, surfaced as the top municipality with the lowest Internal Revenue Allotment (IRA) per capita (per head) of P653. Based on income, Catbalogan is a first class municipality.

On the other hand, Maslog, the smallest municipality in Eastern Visayas in terms of population posted the highest IRA per capita among the 139 municipalities in the Region in 2009, the National Statistical Coordination Board dislosed.

With an IRA of P35.4 million, the Maslog registered an IRA per capita of P7, 033 in 2009. In terms of income class, however, Maslog is considered a fifth class municipality.

Based on the list provided by NSCB 8, it was observed that most of the top ten municipalities with the highest IRA per capita belong to low income classes while the bottom ten municipalities belong to the higher income classes.

Of the top ten municipalities with the highest IRA per capita, six are in Eastern Samar; three are in Samar and one, in Northern Samar.

Aside from Maslog, the other municipalities of Eastern Samar in the top ten with the highest IRA per capita include Jipapad, Balangkayan, Maydolong, Mercedes and Llorente.

In Samar, the municipalities included in the top ten with the highest IRA per capita are San Jose de Buan, Hinabangan and Matuguinao inSamar; and in Northern Samar, included in the top ten is Lope de Vega.

Meanwhile, the other nine municipalities with the lowest IRA per capita include Baybay, Borongan, Tanauan, Palompon, Naval, Isabel, Palo, Carigara, and Kananga.

These municipalities are mostly found in the province of Leyte except for Borongan and Naval which are capital towns of Eastern Samar and Biliran provinces, respectively.

Baybay, which posted the second lowest IRA per capita, has the biggest population among all municipalities in Region 8.

NSCB 8 defined Internal Revenue Allotment as the annual share of local government units estimated at forty percent (40%) of the actual collections of national revenue taxes as certified by the BIR.

The aggregate IRA is divided among the different levels of the LGUs, 23% to provinces, 23% to cities, 34% to municipalities and 20% to barangays.

The IRA is apportioned to the individual LGUs based on population (50%), land area (25%) and equal sharing (25%) of the LGUs. (PIA 8) [top]

|«  prev  next  »|
»CSC issues 100% smoke free policy
»1st Mayor Edgardo Timbol Gurolympics draws 511 teachers
»Governor dreams for Davao Oriental
»DTI, Go Negosyo forge partnership to build stronger MSMEs
»PGMA graces Saba Banana Integrated Program launch
»Virtual farming program to turn OFWs into investors
»Iloilo's 2nd flyover finished by June 2010
»Banks observe National Banking Week
»Feast of 3 Kings ends Christmas season
»NSCB bares top ten municipalities with highest IRA per capita in Region 8
|«  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines