Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Saturday, 16 January 2021 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << January 2021 >> 
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

PGMA leads 2008 Mabini Award ceremonies in Malacaņang

Manila (7 August) -- President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo led the ceremonies for the 2008 Apolinario Mabini Awards at the Malacaņang Palace's Heroes Hall.

This year's winners were 25 outstanding persons with disabilities (PWDs) and PWD-friendly individuals, establishments and institutions.

Heading the list of the awardees were three local government units (LGUs): Makati City, Carmona, Cavite, and Nueva Vizcaya.

They were cited for their outstanding contributions to the rehabilitation of PWDs in their respective jurisdictions.

Eight commercial establishments: the SM chain of department stores in Baguio, Clark, Lipa, Mall of Asia, Marilao, San Lazaro and Taytay and the newly-opened Trinoma (Triangle North of Manila) mall were awarded the "Disabled-Friendly Establishments of the Year."

They were cited for providing PWD-friendly facilities such as accessible ramps, reserved parking spaces and toilets.

Business process outsourcing industry leader TeleTech was named "Employer of the Year" for hiring 27 "employees with varying disabilities in seven of its branches" in the country and for consistently supporting the cause of PWDs by allowing several of its PWD employees to pursue their professional and career development.

Other awardees were:

o Rex Bernardo who was presented the "Mabini Presidential Award" for his achievements in the academe and for being a founding member of the Alyansa ng May Kapansanan sa Pilipinas (AKAP);

  • Abelardo Apollo David Jr. and the Dong-in Tulay Center in Mariveles, Bataan as "Rehabilitation Volunteer of the Year" for their deep involvement in projects that helped PWDs overcome their physical disabilities;

  • Catalina Fermin who received a "Special Award" for providing services that went beyond government social work; Cebu City government official website as the most "disabled-friendly" website; Dela Avila Kono as Outstanding Woman with Disability; Rodolfo Mendoza as Disabled Filipino of the Year; Johnny Lantion as Outstanding Disabled Filipino of the Year for Luzon;

  • Reynaldo Merida as Outstanding Disabled Filipino of the year for Visayas; and Noel Manabe as Outstanding Disabled Filipino of the Year for Mindanao.

    The Apolinario Mabini Awards was launched by the Philippine Foundation for the Rehabilitation of the Disabled, Inc. (PFRDI) in 1974 on the occasion of its silver anniversary. Since then, the Mabini Awards has been a major annual program of the PFRDI.

    The Awards was named after one of the country's foremost heroes, Apolinario Mabini, also known as the "Sublime Paralytic," whose disability was not a hindrance to his creative genius that provided inspiration to the Philippine revolution. (PIA-MMIO) [top]

  •   prev  next  »|
    »PGMA leads 2008 Mabini Award ceremonies in Malacaņang
    »ASEAN senior officials on energy meet in Bangkok
    »Ilocano News: Roundup: Mangnamnama ti Malakanyang a maitantan ti ARMM elections
    »Leadership, dynamism and commitment vital to address climate change - NEDA chief
    »'Julian' sends 5 Pangasinan towns under water
    »Mass production of vegetable flour pushed
    »DepEd exec clarifies report on barangays without schools
    »Cebuano News: Pres. Arroyo gipadali ang pagpamalit sa makinarya para sa dinaghang paghimo og vegetable flour
    »Parole and Probation Administration celebrates 32 years of service
    »Gov't ensures ample cheap rice in countryside
      prev  next  »|

    Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
    For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
    Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
    PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines