Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Wednesday, 14 April 2021 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << April 2021 >> 
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Biliran's NIT hosts SCUAA 2006

by Flor Jackson

Naval, Biliran (21 October) -- It is now the turn of the Naval Institute of Technology (NIT) headed by its President, Dr. Edita Genson, here in the island province of Biliran to play host to the State Colleges and Universities Athletic Association (SCUAA) 2006 games and athletic competition which will be participated in by 11 competing teams from all over region 8.

This was revealed by Mr. Leoncio Sambitan, NIT Sports coordinator and the SCUAA 2006 over-all sports coordinator as far as NIT's hosting of this big event is concerned during the special Kapihan forum held today at Radyo Natin-Naval.

He said that as far as the preparations are concerned, everything is set for the grand opening of the SCUAA 2006 on Sunday, October 22.

He added that the delegations will start arriving this afternoon especially those that come from colleges and universities in far provinces in Eastern Visayas.

"There are 11 state colleges and universities that will be competing in the games and athletic competitions", Sambitan said.

"The University of the Philippines College -Tacloban (UPCT)is supposed to be the 12th delegation , however, in the final tally of the number of delegations, it was narrowed down to 11 because UPCT has withdrawn its participation, he said further.

Some 3,000 athletes and officials are expected to arrive in Naval and all of them will be housed in just one place at the NIT campus.

The 11 delegations represent the state colleges and universities in region 8 which include the Eastern Samar State University (ESSU); Eastern Visayas State University (EVSU); Leyte Normal University (LNU); Leyte State University (LSU); Naval Institute of Technology (NIT), the host school; Palompon Institute of Technology (PIT); Samar State College of Agriculture and Forestry (SSCAF); Samar State University (SSU); Southern Leyte State University (SLSU); Tiburcio Tancinco Memorial Institute of Science and Technology (TTMIST) and the University of Eastern Philippines (UEP).

Mr. Sambitan bared that on the opening day, October 22, of the seven-day competition, it will be started with a 10:00 am pontifical mass to be officiated by Msgr. Filomeno Bactol, Bishop of Naval at the NIT grounds. This will be followed by an athletic parade around the town of Naval and playground demonstration at 2:00 o'clock in the afternoon afterwhich the opening program follows.

Later at 5:00 p.m. there will be aconference of all tournament managers, coaches, assistant coaches and trainers to review on the guidelines and rules of the competition and other house rules that will make the entire stay of the athletes and officials pleasurable at the NIT campus while the games are going on until the end of the meet.

The games will be played from 6:00 o'clock in the morning until 5:00 o'clock in the afternoon from Monday, October 23 until Thursday, October 26. The awarding and closing ceremonies will be held on Friday morning, October 27 and the entire delegation will go back to their respective provinces in the afternoon of the same day.

The highlight of the seven-day meet is the Search for Miss SCUAA 2006 to be held on Wednesday, October 25 at 7:00 o'clock in the evening at the NIT gymnasium while the talent night will be held a day before the search also in the same time and the same venue.

The search will be participated in by the lovely candidates each representing the 11 state colleges and universities in Eastern Visayas namely: Angelina O. Rebadulla - Miss ESSU; Joy O. Bernardo - Miss EVSU; Trisha Dawn Barbosa Daffon - Miss LNU; Sheena Lou T. Rosales - Miss LSU; Maridel T. Paghubasan - Miss NIT; Ann Maureen M. Too˝ares - Miss PIT; Mary Cris Abella - Miss SSCAF; Reina Julienne S. Jumagdao - Miss SSU; Jovannie C. Inso - Miss SLSU; Mary Grace T. Leopardas - Miss TTMIST and Agatha Rosales Fontanilla - Miss UEP.

Attractive prizes await the candidate who will be crowned Miss SCUAA 2006. The search is a beauty and brain contest. (PIA-Biliran) [top]

  prev  next  »|
»Governors, mayors forge deal for joint promotion of tourism in Central Philippines
»It's 75-25 in favor of people's initiative, says Mayors' League president
»Biliran's NIT hosts SCUAA 2006
»Cebu-based hospital inks partnership with US-based hospital for jobs
  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines