Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Monday, 18 October 2021 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << October 2021 >> 
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

6th Lamiraw creative writing workshop fellows named

By Neil D. Lopido

Tacloban City (October 17) -- Twenty (20) writing fellows will be privileged to participate in the 6th Lamiraw Regional Creative Writing Workshop (LRCWW) on November 4-7, 2009 at the Tiburcio Tancinco Institute of Science and Technology (TTMIST), Calbayog City.

According to Harold Mercurio, project coordinator, the fellows who will be provided for a decent housing, a modest stipend, and a subsidy to partially defray costs of the fellows' transportation are: Luzon fellow Roel H. Manipon (UST), Pasig City; Visayas fellow Jesus C. Insilada (UP Iloilo), Iloilo City; Mindanao fellow Paul Alfonse Marquez (Ateneo de Zamboanga), Zamboanga City.

Fellows from Eastern Visayas are: Jerry Gracio (UP Diliman) Mondragon, Northern Samar; Marlon Mente (Lyceum) Capul, Northern Samar; Rhea Sauro (UEP) Capul, Northern Samar; Jethro Magdaraog (UP Diliman) Capul, Northern Samar; Jinnebeth R. Loro (UP Tacloban) Ormoc City; Rizza A. Cusi (UP Tacloban) Barugo, Leyte; Paul James Ancao (LNU) Tacloban City; Timoteo Avellana (LNU) Tacloban City; Jhonil Bajado (UP Tacloban) Maydolong, Eastern Samar; Mary Grace Abogado (LNU) Borongan, Eastern Samar; Joji Awagesh (NIT) Naval, Biliran; Ana Baldesco (CALAO) Calbayog City; Jessie Baldomaro (CALAO) Calbayog City; Emmanuel Sapinit (CALAO) Calbayog City; Alex Montano (TTMIST-Lamiraw) Calbayog City; Allyn Casin (TTMIST-Lamiraw) Calbayog City; and Marlvien Caranzo (TTMIST-Lamiraw), Calbayog City.

From the original 15 slots, Mercurio informed, five fellows were added to the list because the Lamiraw Executive Committee decided to maximize the number of fellows considering that TTMIST is the home of the Lamiraw workshop. The newly organized Calbayog Literary Arts Organization (CALAO) will shoulder the expenses of the additional fellows.

Compared to previous Lamiraw workshops, this year will have an added feature such as the launching on Poetry on Canvass which will feature poems (siday) selected from among the best siday of previous Lamiraw fellows. The 1st Lamiraw Literary Journal will also be launched during the workshop and on the graduation/culmination program, winners of the Lamiraw Poetry Contest will be proclaimed.

Panelists for this year's workshop are: Prof. Merlie Alunan and Dr. Victor Sugbo from the University of the Philippines, Tacloban City; Prof. Daryll Delgado from Ateneo de Manila University; Dr. David Genotiva from Eastern Visayas State University, Tacloban City ; Mr. Januar Yap from Cebu Normal University, Cebu City; and Mr. Dante Rosales of from Calbayog City. Guest panelists are: Voltaire Q. Oyzon from Leyte Normal University, Tacloban City; Janis Claire Salvacion from the National Maritime Polytechnic, Tacloban City; Jethol Paanod from Naval State University, Naval, Biliran; and Harold Mercurio from TTMIST, Calbayog City.

The Lamiraw Regional Creative Writing Workshop is hosted by TTMIST through its president Dr. Socorro Bohol and funded by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts. (PIA-8) [top]

  prev  next  »|
»6th Lamiraw creative writing workshop fellows named
»RP barangays conduct synchronized assemblies
  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines