Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 6 August 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << August 2020 >> 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Siquijor leaders retain posts

Election peaceful and smooth, say Comelec, PNP, AFP

by Rizalie A. Calibo

Siquijor Province (14 May) -- Except for a few entrants Siquijor province is apparently run by almost the same sets of leaders, mostly belonging to the Lakas Kampi-CMD party.

Reelected officials were Congressman Orlando B. Fua, Govenor Olando A. Fua Jr, Vice-Governor Andre Jesu Cortes and all town mayors except for Enrique Villanueva town whose bet Ellery Clint O. Orquillas died during the campaign period. Still, his wife Melojean B. Orquillas took over the post and won this election.

Cong. Fua got 33,509 votes against his opponents Dingdong Avanzado's 10,094 votes, and Grace Sumalpong's 6,565 votes.

Gov. Fua, on one hand, got the highest votes of 40,491 as against LP bet Ben P. Aquino's 8,092. Total valid ballots counted is 52,863. The number of registered voters is 61,002.

All members of the provincial board also belong to the same party, four of whom were newly elected Joan Antonette Albito of the 1st district and Leonardo B. Acain of the 2nd District. The four others were incumbent SP members Arturo Pacatang and Arthur Chan of the 1st district, and Freddie Calibo and Orville A. Fua of the 2nd district.

Only Larena Mayor Gold L. Calibo of the six winning mayors belongs to the Nacionalista party. Other re-elected mayors are Rebecca Padayhag of Maria town, Orpheus Fua of Lazi, Edwin Quimno of San Juan and Richard Quezon of Siquijor, Siquijor.

For vice-mayor position, only Meynard Asok of Maria town was newly elected. The five others were incumbent vice mayors Earl Stanley Matas of Enrique Villanueva, Ronnie S. Villanueva of Larena, James D. Monte of Lazi, Glicerio Andog of San Juan , and Delfin Macahis of Siquijor town.

As of 9:40 am of May 11, 2010, all election returns from six municipalities were received by the Provincial Board of Canvassers ( PBOC). The first town to transmit the election returns is Larena at 1:24 am, followed by San Juan, 5:28 am, Lazi, 6:52 am, Maria 6:58 am, Siquijor, 7:05 am and Enrique Villanueva, 9:40 am.

Winning Provincial officials were proclaimed at 11:54 am of the same day.

Meanwhile, the joint task force composed of the provincial Philippine National Police (PNP), Philippine Army and Commission on Elections (COMELEC) said election in Siquijor province was generally peaceful and smooth.

Prov'l Election Supervisor Atty. Leandro M. Magusara said Election started smoothly in Siquijor province with all 141 PCOS machines in 141 clustered precincts provincewide operating well.

PNP P/Supt. Larson Catalbas Dechino also said all is well in Siquijor although reports of armed men sightings abound but all found out negative based on the joint task force mainly by the PNP's and the Philippine Army's validation of the reports.

Dechino said PNP strength is 162 police deployed to 141 polling centers and other vital installations particularly the Larena and Lazi power barges. With one platoon augmentation from the Phil Army and active participation of the barangay tanods all over the province, the provincial was confident there would be a zero-violent incidence in the island during election period, he said in an interview with the Philippine Information Agency/Hatol ng Bayan 2010 here.

Col. Christopher Estella, Deputy Brigade Commander, 302 Brigade , Phil., Army also said election was generally smooth except for isolated cases such as malfunctioning of a few PCOS machines, queuing problem and other minor incidence.

PCOS machines in a few barangays (three precints in Enrique Villanueva and two in Siquijor) have reportedly malfunctioned but according to Election Assistant Jun Eric Tan, who fixed the problem himself in one of the precincts in Siquijor, such were minor technical glitches and were immediately resolved, with two PCOS machines being replaced.

"But security wise, power barges in Larena and Lazi towns were guarded and secured in anticipation of any sabotage. There were no untoward incidence until the end of the voting period, Col. Estella said. (PIA) [top]

  prev  next  »|
»246,000 Aklanons join history by voting in first auto elections
»Trenas, Mabilog, Espinosa win in Iloilo City
»Energy conservation seminar, audit slated in Western Visayas
»CAPSU brings opportunities to OSYs
»Pangasinan election canvass over in four days
»PDEA 8 set to destroy drug evidence on May 25
»Siquijor leaders retain posts
»Cebuano News: PGMA mitugyan sa mga tambal nagbili dul-an sa P100,000 alang sa ZamboSur Medical Center
»DTI, PCE organize "Negosyo" seminar
»Outstanding MSME award inspires entrepreneurs, DTI says
  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines