Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Saturday, 4 July 2020 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
 << July 2020 >> 
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Special News Editions:
PIA Specials:
NEW! Cabinet Officials
Jobs.Slides.Specials.Ads. Events.ASEAN.Multimedia
Visitors since 15 Feb 2011:
PIA News Archive:
PIA Archive News Reader

PIA Press Release

Cabucgayan town receives hall-of-fame award

By Marivic A. Alcober

Tacloban City (31 October) -- For being selected as one of Eastern Visayas (EV) Best Sangguniang Bayan (SB) for the 4th to 6th class municipalities for three consecutive years, Cabucgayan, Biliran was honored with the Hall of Fame Award in the recently concluded awarding ceremony for the 2006 Search for the Most Outstanding SB held at the Kanhuraw Convention Center in Tacloban City last 27 October.

This was bared by Information Officer Myles Colasito of the Department of Interior & Local Government (DILG), Regional Office VIII. According to him, the Hall of Fame Award was enjoyed last year by Silago, Southern Leyte who won the EV's Best SB from 2003 to 2005.

Aside from Cabucgayan, Borongay, Eastern Samar also won as Best SB for the 1st to 3rd class municipalities in the region blocking Catarman, Northern Samar who vying for a three-peat for the same category for year 2006.

To give color to the occasion, it was learned that the awardees were honored with the presence of distinguished guests like DILG Regional Director William C. Paler, Leyte 1st District Representative Remedios L. Petilla and Philippine Councilors League - EV Chair Wilson Uy who all handed out the awards.

The annual Search for EV Best SB was launched last 2002 through the efforts of DILG in coordination with the Philippine Councilors League - EV, Department of Budget & Management, Department of Social Welfare & Development, and the Department of Agriculture.

The giving out of the awards was initiated to give due recognition to the SBs in EV who exerted extra efforts in rendering satisfactory services to their constituents.

For the 1st to 3rd class municipalities, it was learned further that 2nd place went to the SB of Abuyog, Leyte ; Catarman, Northern Samar for 3rd place; and Catbalogan, Samar for the 4th place. For the 4th to 6th class municipalities, 2nd place went to Balangiga, Eastern Samar; San Juan, Southern Leyte for the 3rd place; and Inopacan, Leyte for the 4th.

An inter-agency screening team headed by DILG Assistant Regional Director Aida Z Laruda took charge in the evaluation, thorough screening, and selection of the best performing SB by province. (PIA-8) [top]

  prev  next  »|
»Cabucgayan town receives hall-of-fame award
»Commentary: PGMA's visit opens more China-RP economic ties
»USLS tops 15th statistical quiz
»Commentary: SOS a precedent for IOPC
»SOS evacuees can now return home
»60% of OFWs wish to remain in Tengiz
»Committee tackles guidelines for Galing RDC award
»Region 8 legislators train on comprehensive traffic code formulation
»Commentary: "Paeng" proved gov't preparedness, quick response
»Commentary: Graft, smuggling bottlenecks to a growing economy
  prev  next  »|

Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines