Presidential Communications Operations Office

  PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
  Thursday, 12 December 2019 News Before 1 Feb 2012. Click for Latest
Web PIA  
Region R03 Submenu
Latest News
News Headlines
Foto Releases
One Luzon
Special Issues
Central Luzon Region

PIA Press Release
Sunday, January 08, 2012

Center for Kapampangan Studies to honor another Pampango poet laureate

by Joelyn G. Baluyut

ANGELES CITY, Pampanga, Jan. 8 (PIA) -- A known Kapampangan poet laureate will be crowned by the Center for Kapampangan Studies (CKS) of Holy Angel University (HAU) here in recognition of his contribution for the birth and revitalization of Kapampangan literature in this province.

Delfin Turla Quiboloy, to be represented by his family, will be given a gold crown of laurel leaves as a symbol of dignity of long-ago glory, on January 14 at HAU.

Quiboloy is a poet laureate from Lubao town who died in the year 1999. He was an educator who became a prolific poet and playwright in the 1960s until the 1980s.

He wrote more than 200 poems, novels, and dramas. Among his works were: Tagumpe ning Katutwan (The Triumph of the Truth); Ganid (A Cruel Person); Sinta’t Balen (Love and Country); Aus Ning Laman (Call of the Flesh); Malagung Ubingan (Beautiful Traitor); and Angga Banwa (‘Till Eternity).

Quiboloy was one of the founders of “Aguman Ding Talasulat Kapampangan o AGTAKA,” which is a league of Kapampangan writers in 1964. He was elected president of the organization in 1977.

In 1969, the United Poet Laureates International that promotes world brotherhood and peace through poetry honored him for his contributions to world poetry in general and Kapampangan literature in particular.

Also, he launched the annual Don Gonzalo Puyat Memorial Awards for Pampango Literature in 1978, which is a tribute to the unique Kapampangan literary works through the assistance of the late Senate President Gil Puyat.

He also published a book together with another poet laureate Jose Gallardo called “Kuriro at Kawatasan,” which is a compilation of the two poets’ favorite poems and zarzuelas.

CKS has revived the tradition of crowning poets laureate to honor Kapampangan poets who contributed in the Kapampangan language and literature.

Among the poets crowned at HAU are Francisco Gunito of Macabebe town; Amado Gigante of this city; and the US-based Ernesto Turla, Rafael Maniago and Renato Alzadon. (WLB/JGB- PIA 3)

Latest Stories
  • Tagalog News: Libreng operasyon sa mata, ipagkakaloob sa mga may katarata, pugita (R03)
  • DOH gives free cataract operation to Bulakeños (R03)
  • Tagalog News: ‘A Day of Prayer,’ isinagawa sa Bulacan (R03)
  • ‘A Day of Prayer’ for Bulacan’s future (R03)
  • Tagalog News: CSC 3 patuloy na tumatanggap ng mga nominasyon para sa 2012 Search for Outstanding Public Officials and Employees (R03)
  • CSC 3 continues to accept nominations for the 2012 Search for Outstanding Public Officials and Employees (R03)
  • San Fernando to celebrate 11th Cityhood anniversary (R03)
  • Information saves lives (R03)
  • Tagalog News: Kabataang lumabag sa curfew, dadalhin sa Kanlungan Center (R03)
  • Youth curfew violators to stay overnight in Kanlungan Center (R03)
  • PNoy proclaims Feb. 3 a holiday in Bulacan (R03)
  • Tagalog News: Peb. 3, idineklara ni PNoy bilang isang non-working day sa Bulacan (R03)
  • Tagalog News: 7th ID Commander, may bagong misyon sa Western Visayas (R03)
  • 7th ID Commander gets new assignment in Western Visayas (R03)
  • Tagalog News: CSC 3 tumatanggap na ng mga aplikasyon para sa unang Career Service Paper and Pencil tests ngayong taon (R03)

    Philippine Official Gazette | Office of the President | Presidential Communications Operations Office
    For comments and feedback, please email PIA Newsdesk
    Copyright © 2005 Philippine Information Agency
    PIA Building, Visayas Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City 1101 Philippines